Frequently Asked Questions - MARYLAND Medical Cannabis Card

We know you've got questions, we're here to answer them!

Simply meet the requirements, qualify for a condition and bring proper documentation when you visit!

We will guide you on exactly what you need to do to become a legal patient in Maryland. Call/text us at 240-356-1000 or email us at

Give us a call/text at 240-356-1000 or email us at and one of our friendly staff members will coordinate a date and time for you to get evaluated by a Registered Medical Marijuana Provider in Maryland.

All medical providers working with Green Health Docs are licensed and authorized to practice medicine in their respective states and are in full compliance with those state’s medical cannabis laws. They all possess an extensive, working knowledge of medical cannabis benefits.

You will need a Photo ID and medical records that say something about the condition for which you are trying to enter the program.

The cost for the Initial Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification is $200 ($170 for veterans). Annual renewal certifications cost $150. That price includes assistance with paperwork, Medical Marijuana education, the Doctor’s visit, and any other help throughout the process.

Any condition that is severe, for which other medical treatments have been ineffective, could qualify for medical cannabis. PTSD, Depression, Cancer, Autism, Headaches, Back Pain/Chronic Pain, Chronic Anxiety, Glaucoma, Seizures, Severe Nausea, Muscle Spasms, Anorexia, Cachexia, and Wasting Syndrome are just a few of the qualifying conditions/symptoms. Call or text us today at 240-356-1000 to find out if your condition qualifies.

Caregivers provides a service for any patient (even those under 18) who cannot or does not wish to go to a dispensary to purchase their medical marijuana. Basically, a caregiver gets the medical marijuana for their patient and then transports it back to him/her. Caregivers are only appointed by patients, must be 21 years or older, and can be a family member.

The Maryland Medical Marijuana Online Registry is now open and you can register here. Come into our office today for any help with this process.

YES! Children (under 18) can also become legal patients, however, the child must have a parent or guardian serve as his/her caregiver.

YES! Veterans can obtain medical marijuana in the same way as any other patient at Green Health Docs! We are proud to help our veterans combat their medical conditions with medical marijuana.

No. Insurance companies do not cover the cost of a written certification in Maryland.

A registered Maryland medical provider will examine you, review medical records, assess your medical history, maintain your patient records and provide follow-up care as needed.

In Maryland, a Medical Marijuana patient can only obtain legal medical cannabis from Maryland licensed dispensaries. There will be a total of 94 dispensaries. There will be 2 dispensaries in each of the 47 legislative districts.

You are not required to carry a patient ID card, but they are available as an option. A patient ID card will be available for a fee of $50.00 to the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission.

A patient may possess up to 120 grams (approximately four ounces) of marijuana in a 30-day period.

Yes, a patient may only have up to 36 grams of marijuana extract per 30-day supply.

No, only flower and extracts (oils, tinctures, topicals, etc.) will be allowed initially. The Maryland Cannabis Commission hopes to introduce edibles as the program develops. We will gladly share recipes with you.

NO! The Maryland Medical Cannabis Laws do not allow for caregivers or patients to cultivate medical marijuana. Only a state licensed cultivation facility can grow medical marijuana.

As a legal marijuana patient, you are protected and hence the reason to get legal now! Patients do not have to disclose that they possess medical cannabis and do not have to consent to a search. However, if a search is conducted and medical cannabis is found, the patient should present their patient ID card or direct law enforcement to the Maryland Cannabis Commission database to show that they are a legal patient.

NO. You must be certified in Maryland by a Maryland approved medical provider to legally purchase medical marijuana in the state.

Call or text Green Health Docs at 240-356-1000 and a representative will help you find a registered Marijuana doctor within Maryland. Green Health Docs will have offices all across Maryland with the first location being Frederick, MD.

Remember! We’re here to answer any question

Call or text us at 240-356-1000 to ask us anything about this process!