How To Get Your Virginia Medical Marijuana Card
Learn how to get your Virginia medical marijuana card.
How Green Health Telemedicine Works in 4 Easy Steps:
Click below to book your Virginia medical marijuana online evaluation:
You must be a resident of the state of Virginia.
At this time, the Virginia Board of Pharmacy will not be allowing out of state patients to qualify for affirmative defense for CBD/THC-A
There is no minimum age requirement in Virginia.
Patients under the age of 18 can qualify but require a parent or legal guardian to register with the Board of Pharmacy.
Any condition or diagnosis can be qualifying if a practitioner determines that Medical Marijuana could be beneficial.
You will need to supply documentation that can be used to verify your medical condition. This includes, but not limited to, things such as: medical records, office visit summaries, typed doctor’s notes, pill bottles, prescriptions, and/or anything else that confirms your medical history with the condition.
Schedule a visit
Call us at (877) 242-0362 or use our online scheduling feature to set up a Telemedicine evaluation for Virginia Medical Marijuana.
A registered practitioner will review your case and perform an evaluation.
Once approved, you will be issued your Written Certification form which you can then use to register online as a patient with the Board of Pharmacy
In order to register for your Virginia medical marijuana card you will need the following:
- Proof of identity in the form of a government-issued identification card;
- Proof of residency such as a government-issued identification card or tax receipt;
- If the patient is a minor, proof of the qualifying patient’s age in the form of a birth certification or other government-issued identification as well as proof of identity and residency for the parent or guardian
Proof of identification and residency, a copy of the written certification form, and the registration fee must be submitted with the Board of Pharmacy Application. An application for the parent/legal guardian must also be submitted when the patient is a minor or incapacitated adult.
For patients, the initial registration fee is $50 and the annual renewal fee is $50.
For parents or guardians, the initial registration fee is $25 and the annual renewal fee is $25.
Once the registration is issued, the patient (and parent/guardian, if applicable) should carry the board registration card and the written certification form any time the patient is in possession of the CBD/THC-A oil product.
Age & Residency Requirements
Schedule a Visit
Submit Your Application
Virginia MMJ CARD FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Q: What are the qualifying conditions?
A: There are no specific qualifying conditions. Any diagnosis that your practitioner determines could benefit from medical marijuana can qualify. Some common conditions treated with MMJ include:
- Chronic pain
- Severe Nausea
- Epilepsy and other seizure disorders
- Neuropathic pain disorders
- Crohn’s disease
- Terminal illness
- Muscle spasms
- Anorexia and bulimia
- Cachexia and wasting syndrome
Q: Will insurance cover the fees involved with the MMJ programs?
A: Unfortunately, no. This is because cannabis is still illegal at a federal level.
Q: Will patients registration status be made available to the public?
A: No, you are protected under HIPAA Laws.
Q: Is CBD or THC-A oil currently available to obtain from a registered processor in Virginia?
A: No. It is anticipated that the first pharmaceutical processors will become operational by December 2019. It will take approximately 4-6 months to cultivate, produce, and test the products prior to dispensing. CBD and THC-A oil products are not expected to be available for purchase from the processors until Spring/Summer 2020, at the earliest.
Q: What types of medical marijuana will be available?
A: Strictly CBD and THC-A oil products with no more than five percent THC.
Q: Can I legally possess cannabis before the program is fully up and running?
A: The Board of Pharmacy recognizes that although CBD/THC-A oil products are not currently available to purchase in Virginia, patients may have acquired products from other sources. Individuals with a valid written certification issued by a practitioner have an affirmative defense in any prosecution involving marijuana in the form of CBD oil or THC-A oil.
Q: How much is the fee to register and obtain an MMJ card in Virginia?
A: For patients, the initial registration fee is $50 and the annual renewal fee is $50. For parents or guardians, the initial registration fee is $25 and the annual renewal fee is $25.
Q: How long does it take to receive my MMJ card?
A: Applications with the Board of Pharmacy are typically processed within 7-10 business days. Once approved, a board registration card will be sent out to the address provided.
Q: Are caregivers allowed?
A: Yes, for minors or incapacitated adults a parent or legal guardian must apply for board registration for both the patient and for himself or herself as the parent or legal guardian.
Still have questions? Contact us by filling out the form below.