Frequently Asked Questions – OHIO
We know you've got questions, we're here to answer them!
Patients are required to be a resident of Ohio and have at least one qualifying condition (see below) diagnosed by a physician. Call or text Green Health Docs at 240-356-1000 and we will gladly answer any of your questions!
Medical cannabis patients must have one or more of the following conditions:
- Chronic, Severe or Intractable Pain
- PTSD (Post traumatic stress disorder)
- Epilepsy or another Seizure disorder
- AIDS (or HIV+ status)
- Crohn’s disease
- Ulcerative Colitis
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Hepatitis C
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Spinal cord disease or injury
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Traumatic brain injury
Call or text 240-356-1000 and our Green Health Docs team will be happy to set up your appointment at one of our clinic locations in Ohio.
All medical providers working with Green Health Docs are licensed and authorized to practice medicine in their respective states and are in full compliance with those state’s medical cannabis laws. They all possess an extensive, working knowledge of medical cannabis benefits.
You will need a Photo ID and medical records that say something about the condition for which you are trying to enter the program.
No. Insurance companies do not cover the cost of a certification in Ohio because marijuana is still illegal at the federal level
The cost for the Ohio Medical Marijuana Certification is $200 ($170 for veterans) for the initial visit. The annual renewal visit is $150. (Your first year does not start until the first dispensary opens so if you come before product is available for purchase, you beat the rush AND there is no additional cost to you! Win-win!)
THERE IS NO CHARGE FOR ANY FOLLOW-UP VISITS DURING THE COURSE OF EACH YEAR (unlike most other providers offering this service).
This price includes assistance with paperwork, Medical Marijuana education, the Doctor’s visit, and any other help throughout the process.
Typically, once dispensaries open there becomes a huge influx of requests for patient registration and doctor visits with significant delays for both. At Green Health Docs, we encourage patients to get certified prior to this so that once dispensaries are open, our patients are able to go immediately to access product.
In addition, because it isn’t fair to charge you for time when the dispensaries aren’t open, your first year does not start until the first dispensary in Ohio opens so you end up paying no additional cost but get the added benefit of being certified ahead of time!
A registered Ohio medical provider will examine you, review medical records, assess your medical history, maintain your patient records and provide follow-up care as needed.
Caregivers provide a service for any patient (even those under 18) who cannot or does not wish to go to a dispensary to purchase their medical marijuana. Basically, a caregiver gets the medical marijuana for their patient and then transports it back to him/her. Caregivers are only appointed by patients, must be 21 years or older, and can be a family member. A patient is only allowed 2 caregivers and a caregiver can only provide services to 2 patients.
YES! All medical marijuana patients and their caregivers are required to register with the State Board of Pharmacy. At this time the patient registry is not available. Once available, we will post that link and help patients register over the phone or in person at one our clinic locations.
There are mandatory annual fees that patients and caregivers must pay to the Ohio Board of Pharmacy. The annual fee for a patient registration is $50. The annual fee for a caregiver registration is $25.
A patient or caregiver registration will be valid from the date of issuance and expire one year later, on the last day of the month it was issued. If the patient is diagnosed as terminally ill, the patient’s registration will expire after six months.
NO! The law prohibits the Ohio Board of Pharmacy, as well as Ohio licensed dispensaries, from making personal identifying information public. Physicians and those employed by dispensaries will be able to verify a patient or caregiver’s registration.
Medical marijuana will be available from retail dispensaries licensed by the Board of Pharmacy. Once the Board of Pharmacy has completed its dispensary licensing process dispensary locations will be made available through this site. Our Green Health Docs website will continuously update our Ohio Dispensary Map (https://greenhealthdocs.com/dispensary-map-ohio/) as dispensaries begin to open!
The following forms of medical marijuana are permitted: oils, tinctures, plant material, edibles and patches. The law prohibits the use of medical marijuana by smoking or combustion, but does allow for vaporization (vaping). The law prohibits any form that is attractive to children
YES! However, a certified physician may recommend treatment with medical marijuana only after obtaining the consent of a parent or another person responsible for providing consent to treatment.
YES! Veterans also receive a discount with Green Health Docs and pay a reduced initial visit fee of $170. Thank you for your service!
NO! The law prohibits the cultivation of medical marijuana for personal, family, or household use.
The amount of medical marijuana possessed by a registered patient or caregiver must not exceed a 90-day supply. Full details regarding a 90-day supply can be found in Ohio Administrative Rule 3796:8-2-04.
NO! At this time, in order to access medical cannabis in Ohio, you must be a patient in the Ohio medical cannabis program. (This may change over time, however, and reciprocity with other states is an eventual goal per the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program.)
As a legal marijuana patient, you are protected and hence the reason to get legal now! Patients do not have to disclose that they possess medical cannabis and do not have to consent to a search. However, if a search is conducted and medical cannabis is found, the patient should inform the police that he/she is a medical cannabis patient.